Skip to content
Join fellow black alumni in Oaks Bluff for a fun-filled weekend of bonding and socializing your Northeastern classmates.
Connect
Stories

A memoirist-​​in-​​residence

Few people have cleaner bath­rooms than writers on dead­lines, according to mem­oirist Kath­leen Norris.

“There are times when you want to do any­thing but look at the blank page,” said Norris, an acclaimed essayist whose books — including “Dakota” and “The Cloister Walk — explore ideas of reli­gious and spir­i­tual faith.

Norris’ admis­sion was shared with more than a dozen mem­bers of the North­eastern com­mu­nity in an inti­mate master class held Monday after­noon as part of North­eastern Human­i­ties Center’s Artists and Prac­ti­tioners in Res­i­dence Program.

The class marked the first event in a two-​​day series of lec­turers and read­ings with Norris, including a lec­ture on Monday night at Trinity Church in Copley Square, a poetry reading in Con­cord Tuesday morning and a lec­ture at 5 p.m. Tuesday in Raytheon Amphitheatre.

Norris said the goal of writing a memoir is to ensure that even the most per­sonal story speaks to the reader and illu­mi­nates some­thing about his or her own life.

“My goal is to be more than merely per­sonal, to have it start and end with me,” Norris said. “If it’s truly per­sonal and reaching out to the world, you as a reader think, ‘Oh, I’ve expe­ri­enced that but I’d never known what to call it. Now I know exactly what that means.’”

She added: “The reader com­pletes the writing process by having it mean some­thing impor­tant and be spe­cific to their own lives.”

Norris spoke of a reading she did for a small but ded­i­cated audi­ence in Boston in 1997 — the day of the 100th run­ning of the Boston Marathon,— in which a Hindu man said her book was the first that allowed him to under­stand the Chris­tian faith without feeling forced to convert.

“I thought ‘Now, my book is com­plete,’” Norris said, “and he had given it back to me.”

The work­shop drew a diverse group of atten­dees, including Earl Stafford, Northeastern’s Bal­four Academy pro­gram coor­di­nator who said he aspires to write a memoir in the vein of Frank McCourt’s Angela’s Ashes, and Tabitha Kenlon, a graduate-​​level Eng­lish stu­dent who has begun writing her dissertation.

The event included an extended con­ver­sa­tion of gen­eral writing and revi­sion prac­tices and a dis­cus­sion of favorite memoirs.

Anna Hig­gins, who teaches cre­ative writing in Boston, said that she pur­pose­fully did not finish  neu­rol­o­gist Oliver Sacks’ “A Leg to Stand On,” a seem­ingly odd prac­tice that hap­pened to be shared by many attendees.

“I didn’t finish the last two pages,” Hig­gins said, describing the power and res­o­nance of the book. “I had so little in common with Oliver Sacks, but I just didn’t want him out of my life.”

And that, said Norris, is the ulti­mate goal of a memoirist.

– by Matt Collette

More Stories

Photo of the Capitol Building at night

High stakes for politics, SCOTUS in 2018

01.04.2018
Photo of the crashed truck that was used in the October 31st attack in Manhattan.

Weaponizing Language: How the meaning of “allahu akbar” has been distorted

11.08.2017
Northeastern logo

Why I love studying Spanish

05.29.20
Uncategorized