Skip to content

Congratulations to: Associate Professor Alicia Sasser Modestino, Associate Professor Imke Reimers and Professor Jun Ma.

Alicia Sasser Modestino and Imke Reimers have been awarded tenure and Jun Ma has been promoted to full professor. All three are very deserving of the recognition that they are receiving from the University, and it is a privilege to have them as colleagues.

Bilge Erten, Assistant Professor of Economics and International Affairs, was awarded the World Bank Economic Review Excellence in Refereeing Award 2019Link

Jacquaetta Hester, Graduate Administration Coordinator in the Department of Economics, was named one of the three winners of the 2020 CSSH Outstanding Staff Award! Nominees praised Jacquaetta “for her commitment to supporting the department’s many graduate students with warmth and enthusiasm.” Nominators also recognized Jacquaetta’s ability to excel in the complicated technical components of her role.

Assistant Professor Angela Kilby has received a 2019-2020 Outstanding Teaching Award from the College of Social Sciences and Humanities.

On January 8, 2020 the Open Market Institute appointed John Kwoka, Neal F. Finnegan Distinguished Professor of Economics, to their newly created academic advisory board.  All of the members are leading expertts in issues relating to antitrust and monopoly. Link to press release

Professor John Kwoka’s article “The Structural Presumption and the Safe Harbor in Merger Review: False Positives or Unwarranted Concerns?,” was awarded one of the six Jerry S. Cohen Memorial Fund category awards for best antitrust articles. The award was presented during the luncheon at the American Antitrust Institute’s 20th Annual Policy Conference.

Associate Professor Alicia Sasser Modestino has been named the Research Director for the Dukakis Center, Professor Modestino has also been appointed as a Research Fellow for theHarvard Kennedy School Women and Public Policy Program and named a J-PAL Affiliate for the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL) at MIT

A Northeastern University research team led by Alicia Sasser Modestino, Associate Professor of Public Policy and Urban Affairs and Economics, has been awarded a grant from the National Science Foundation in the amount of $199,651. The project is, Understanding Future Shifts in Technology Adoption in the Seafood Industry in Response to the COVID19 Pandemic. The team is comprised of Alicia Sasser Modestino, Kemi Jona (Assistant Vice Chancellor, Digital Learning), and Taskin Padir (Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering)

A proposal submitted by Northeastern University Professors Silvia Prina, Bilge Erten and Professor Pinar Keskin (Wellesley) has been accepted for funding as part of the NBER’s Gender in the Economy Study Group Research Grants on Women, Victimization, and Covid-19. On July 23, Professor Silvia Prina presented the research at NBER’s Summer Institute .

Dr. Madhavi Venkatesan was elected to the Board of the Vermont Law School Alumni Association.