Skip to content

Tabitha Espina Wins a CCCC Scholars for the Dream Travel Award

headshot of Tabitha Espina

Tabitha Espina, Postdoctoral Teaching Associate in English, has won a 2022 CCCC Scholars for the Dream Travel Award. The Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC) is a constituent organization within the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE). Espina is one of 20 recipients of this award.

This year’s selection committee noted:

Tabitha Espina offers a decolonial critique of the WPA outcomes statement in their presentation, situated in what they describe as the contact zones of their composition classroom in Guåhan. Inspired by the Chamoru poet Craig Santos Perez, their project incorporates visual mapping into a decolonial pedagogy in order to re-center the discussion of first-year learning outcomes as “a dialogue emanating from the students.” 

CCCC sponsors the Scholars for the Dream Awards to encourage scholarship by historically underrepresented groups. This includes Black, Latinx, Asian, American Indian/Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian, or other Pacific Islander scholars—persons whose presence and whose contributions are central to the full realization of our professional goals.  

CCCC supports scholars’ participation in the CCCC Annual Convention and sponsors a reception for all award winners. The Awards Selection Committee considers originality of research, significance of pedagogical or theoretical contributions to the field, and potential for larger, subsequent projects.  

Espina will be announced as a recipient of the CCCC Scholars for the Dream Travel Award on Thursday, March 10, during the virtual 2022 CCCC Annual Convention.   

For more information about the CCCC Scholars for the Dream Travel Award, including past winners, see  

More Stories

Max Chapnick Publishes Article in J19


Qianqian Zhang-Wu Publishes Article in Multilingua


Isabel Sobral Campos Publishes Poetry Book Translation

All Stories