Skip to content

Faculty Senate elects leadership members

The Fac­ulty Senate on Wednesday re-​​elected Uni­ver­sity Distin­guished Pro­fessor Richard Day­nard as chairman of the Senate Agenda Com­mittee and set the com­mittee mem­ber­ship for the 2014–15 aca­d­emic year.

For Day­nard, a pro­fessor in the School of Law, it will mark his third-​​consecutive year serving as SAC chairman. The senate also unan­i­mously elected George Alverson, asso­ciate pro­fessor of experimental par­ticle physics, to serve as the Senate Agenda Com­mittee secretary.

Four other sen­a­tors were elected Senate Agenda Com­mittee mem­bers: Carey Rap­pa­port, pro­fessor of elec­trical and computer engi­neering; Gor­dana Rabren­ovic, asso­ciate professor of soci­ology and edu­ca­tion; Marina Leslie, associate professor of Eng­lish; and Robert Hanson, pro­fessor of chemistry and chem­ical biology.

Wednesday marked the senate’s final meeting of the aca­d­emic year. Sen­a­tors passed res­o­lu­tions to estab­lish three new pro­grams: a bach­elor of arts in media and screen studies in the Col­lege of Arts, Media, and Design, a master of sci­ence in busi­ness ana­lytics in the D’Amore-McKim School of Business, and a master of sci­ence in urban infor­matics in the Col­lege of Social Sciences and Humanities.

Stephen W. Director, provost and senior vice pres­i­dent for aca­d­emic affairs, and Thomas Nedell, vice pres­i­dent and CFO, pre­sented a fiscal year 2015 budget overview and goals to the senate.

The senate also passed a res­o­lu­tion to accept a report of rec­om­men­da­tions from the Senate Com­mittee for Research Policy Oversight.

– By Joe O’Connell

More Stories

Photo of the Capitol Building at night

High stakes for politics, SCOTUS in 2018

Photo of the crashed truck that was used in the October 31st attack in Manhattan.

Weaponizing Language: How the meaning of “allahu akbar” has been distorted

Northeastern logo

Why I love studying Spanish