Home » Graduate » Cooperative Education (Co-op) » Learn More

Learn More

Quick Facts

  1. Co-op triggers full-time status so you will maintain your status as a full-time student.
  2. Co-op can extend time-to-degree by 6 months. The co-op cycle runs from January-June or July-December
  3. Co-op will increase the total semester hours for your program by 2sh, because there is a required co-curricular integration course. Students are billed for the course, not the co-op job.
  4. The 2sh Experiential Integration course is a co-curricular requirement of all master’s students on co-op in CSSH.
  5. There are GPA requirements that vary by program (3.0 is the college minimum).
  6. International students can participate in co-op as curricular practical training (CPT), but can only do so after they have completed their first full academic year (e.g. only in year 2).
  7. Students must have a curricular requirement left in order to go on co-op. They may take their last curricular requirement (online or on ground) while they are on co-op or when they return to campus after completing their co-op.
  8. CSSH graduate students can take additional graduate courses while out on co-op.

Required Coursework

Important Note:  Students must still complete all other curricular requirements associated with their program, so electing to add co-op to the program will increase the SH required for the degree by TWO billable hours.

Process

Graduate students can only go on co-op after they have completed two semesters of coursework. They may search and apply for co-op positions during their second semester of coursework if they meet eligibility requirements after completing one full semester of courses in their master’s program at Northeastern.

  1. Students meet with the graduate program director and co-op coordinator for their program to discuss their interest and eligibility and to determine whether/how co-op fits within the curriculum.
  2. Students prepare for co-op beginning early in the semester before they plan to go on co-op. (Spring co-ops: January – June: ~ early September and Fall co-ops: July – December: ~ early January)
  3. Students must meet their department’s GPA requirement and be in good academic standing during the co-op search process.
  4. Students attend a mandatory information session (offered at the beginning of each semester).
  5. Students  submit the Co-op Search and Work Agreement by the stated deadline. The Graduate Office will send a link to the Agreement and notification of deadlines.
  6. Students attend two mandatory workshops: one on resume writing and the second on interviewing.
  7. Students schedule a meeting with their co-op coordinator to review their resume. They can do this on the advising section of the myNortheastern portal.
  8. Students must get approval from the co-op coordinator to begin searching job postings on NUcareers.
  9. Students must meet all deadlines set by their graduate program director and co-op coordinator.
  10. Students select jobs for which to apply, and employers choose whom they want to interview and hire based on skills and qualifications necessary for the job.
  11. Once students accept a position, they cannot renege on the offer and must commit to working the full 6-month co-op for the employer.

Contact List

ProgramGraduate Program DirectorCo-op Coordinator (s)
MA EconomicsJun Ma (ju.ma@northeastern.edu)Linnea Basu
(l.basu@northeastern.edu)
Steve Williams
(s.williams@northeastern.edu)
Rebecca Westerling
(r.westerling@northeastern.edu)
MA EnglishRyan Cordell (r.cordell@northeastern.edu)Lisa Doherty
(l.doherty@northeastern.edu)
MA HistoryMartin Blatt (m.blatt@northeastern.edu)Richard Conley
(r.conley@northeastern.edu)
MA International AffairsJeff Juris (j.juris@northeastern.edu)Joani Lamachia
(j.lamachia@northeastern.edu)
Jon Andrew
(j.andrew@northeastern.edu)
Rebecca Westerling
(r.westerling@northeastern.edu)
MA Political ScienceMai'a Cross (m.cross@northeastern.edu)Eric Winter
(e.winter@northeastern.edu)
MPA Public AdministrationChris Bosso (c.bosso@northeastern.edu) Eric Winter
(e.winter@northeastern.edu)
MPP Public PolicyChris Bosso (c.bosso@northeastern.edu)Eric Winter
(e.winter@northeastern.edu)
MS Criminology & Criminal JusticeGreg Zimmerman (g.zimmerman@northeastern.edu)Michelle Zaff
(m.zaff@northeastern.edu)
MS Security & Resilience StudiesDaniel Aldrich (d.aldrich@northeastern.edu)Eric Winter
(e.winter@northeastern.edu)
MS Urban Planning and PolicyGavin Shatkin (g.shatkin@northeastern.edu)Eric Winter
(e.winter@northeastern.edu)
MS Urban InformaticsDan O'Brien (d.obrien@northeastern.edu)Eric Winter
(e.winter@northeastern.edu)