Home » Graduate » Cooperative Education (Co-op) » Learn More

Learn More

Quick Facts

  1. While on co-op, students maintain their status as a full-time student, which includes continued health insurance and access to NU facilities.
  2. Co-op can extend time-to-degree by 6 months.
  3. CSSH master’s co-op requires that students commit to full-time employment for 6 months. The two co-op cycles run from January-June or July-December.
  4. Students prepare for co-op beginning early in the semester before they plan to go on co-op.
    • Spring co-ops: January – June: ~ early September
    • Fall co-ops: July – December: ~ early January
  5. CSSH graduate students can take an additional graduate course while on co-op.

Eligibility

  1. Graduate students can only go on co-op after they have completed two semesters of coursework.  They may search and apply for co-op positions during their second semester of coursework if they meet eligibility requirements after completing one full semester of courses in their master’s program at Northeastern.
  2. GPA requirements vary by program: 3.000 is the college minimum, however, some departments require a higher GPA for eligibility to participate in co-op.
  3. International students can participate in co-op as curricular practical training (CPT), but may do so only after they have completed their first full academic year. This means they may only go on co-op in year 2.
  4. Students cannot go on co-op once they have completed all of their required graduate courses. They must have a curricular requirement left in order to go on co-op.  They may take their last curricular requirement (online or on ground) while they are on co-op or when they return to campus after completing their co-op.

Coursework and Co-op Work Experience

Important Note:  Students must still complete all other curricular requirements associated with their program, so electing to add co-op to the program will increase the SH required for the degree by TWO billable hours.

Process

Graduate students can only go on co-op after they have completed two semesters of coursework. They may search and apply for co-op positions during their second semester of coursework if they meet eligibility requirements after completing one full semester of courses in their master’s program at Northeastern.

  1. Students meet with the graduate program director to discuss their interests and eligibility and to determine whether/how co-op fits within the curriculum.
  2. Students are required to attend a mandatory information session (offered at the beginning of each semester).
  3. Students are required to submit the Co-op Search and Work Agreement by the stated deadline. The Graduate Office will send a link to the Agreement and notification of deadlines.
  4. Students attend two mandatory workshops: one on resume writing and the second on interviewing.
  5. After they attend the resume writing workshop, students must schedule a meeting with their co-op coordinator to review their resume.
    1. They can schedule a meeting in the advising section of the myNortheastern portal.
  6. Students get approval from the co-op coordinator to begin searching job postings on NUcareers.
  7. Students select jobs for which to apply, and employers choose whom they want to interview and hire based on skills and qualifications necessary for the job.
  8. Once students accept a position, they cannot renege on the offer and must commit to working the full 6-month co-op for the employer.

Contact List

ProgramGraduate Program DirectorCo-op Coordinator (s)
MA EconomicsJun Ma (ju.ma@northeastern.edu)Linnea Basu
(l.basu@northeastern.edu)
Steve Williams
(s.williams@northeastern.edu)
Rebecca Westerling
(r.westerling@northeastern.edu)
MA EnglishRyan Cordell (r.cordell@northeastern.edu)Lisa Doherty
(l.doherty@northeastern.edu)
MA HistoryMartin Blatt (m.blatt@northeastern.edu)Richard Conley
(r.conley@northeastern.edu)
MA International AffairsJeff Juris (j.juris@northeastern.edu)Joani Lamachia
(j.lamachia@northeastern.edu)
Jon Andrew
(j.andrew@northeastern.edu)
Rebecca Westerling
(r.westerling@northeastern.edu)
MA Political ScienceMai'a Cross (m.cross@northeastern.edu)Eric Winter
(e.winter@northeastern.edu)
MPA Public AdministrationChris Bosso (c.bosso@northeastern.edu) Eric Winter
(e.winter@northeastern.edu)
MPP Public PolicyChris Bosso (c.bosso@northeastern.edu)Eric Winter
(e.winter@northeastern.edu)
MS Criminology & Criminal JusticeGreg Zimmerman (g.zimmerman@northeastern.edu)Michelle Zaff
(m.zaff@northeastern.edu)
MS Security & Resilience StudiesDaniel Aldrich (d.aldrich@northeastern.edu)Eric Winter
(e.winter@northeastern.edu)
MS Urban Planning and PolicyGavin Shatkin (g.shatkin@northeastern.edu)Eric Winter
(e.winter@northeastern.edu)
MS Urban InformaticsDan O'Brien (d.obrien@northeastern.edu)Eric Winter
(e.winter@northeastern.edu)