Industrial Organization Society

About the IOS

The Industrial Organization Society (IOS) was founded in 1972 by Stanley Boyle, working closely with Willard Mueller. The original aim of the IOS was to promote research on antitrust policy, regulatory policy, and competition and market power in real-world markets. The Review of Industrial Organization edited by Larry White, is the official journal of the IOS. Since 2003, the IOS has sponsored an annual International Industrial Organization Conference in order to accommodate the needs and interests of the burgeoning field.


The 2021 IIOC will be held in Boston from Friday April 11 to Sunday April 13.


President: Robert Porter, Northwestern University
Vice-President:  Nancy L. Rose, MIT
Treasurer: Christopher Snyder, Dartmouth College
Secretary: Marc Rysman, Boston University


John Asker, Columbia University
Emek Basker, U.S. Census Bureau
Federico Ciliberto, Universtiy of Virginia
Judith A. Chevalier, Yale School of Management
Shane Greenstein, Harvard Business School
Kenneth Hendricks, University of Wisconsin-Madison
John Kwoka, Northeastern University
Francine Lafontaine, University of Michigan
Julie Mortimer, Boston College
Robin Prager, Federal Reserve Board
David Sappington, University of Florida
Katja Seim, Wharton School University of Pennsylvania
Lawrence White, New York University


Kenneth Hendricks, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2018-2019
Marc Rysman, Boston University, 2016-2017
Shane Greenstein, 2014-2015
Joseph Harrington, University of Pennsylvania, 2012-2013
Francine Lafontaine, University of Michigan, 2010-2011
David Sappington, University of Florida, 2008-2009
Christopher Snyder, Dartmouth College, 2006-2007
Robert M. Feinberg, American University, 2004-2005
Robert T. Masson, Cornell University, 2002-2003
Stephen Martin, Purdue University, 2000-2001
John T. Scott, Dartmouth College, 1999-2000
John E. Kwoka, Northeastern University, 1998-1999
Paul Geroski, 1997-1998
Joseph Farrell, University of California, Berkeley, 1996-1997
Carl Shapiro, University of California, Berkeley, 1995-1996
Richard Gilbert, University of California, Berkeley, 1994-1995
Dennis Mueller, University of Vienna, 1993-1994
F. M. Scherer, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, 1992-1993
William S. Comanor, University of California, Santa Barbara, 1991-1992
W. G. Shepherd, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 1990-1991