Call for Papers

ANNOUNCEMENT:  In light of the evolving global coronavirus situation, the Industrial Organization Society has canceled the International Industrial Organization Conference 2020 that was scheduled for May 1-3 at Drexel University.

The IIOC 2020 program has been posted at


To update your paper, please visit:



Again, this year, the Industrial Organization Society is pleased to award the following two prizes which include an honorarium of $2,500.  To be considered for one of the prizes, completed papers must be uploaded to the conference web site by January 29, 2020.


RISING STAR SESSIONS:  The Friday evening session will be devoted to the best graduate students presenting their research. Session chairs and discussants will be established Industrial Organization scholars. All graduate students are encouraged to submit their papers to these highly select sessions which offer a great opportunity to receive feedback on one’s work.

SPONSORED SESSIONS:  This year there will be several sessions devoted to frontier topics that are jointly selected by the IOS Board and a company working on issues related to Industrial Organization. You may apply directly to present in one of these sessions, but all conference submissions related to these topics will be considered for inclusion in these sessions. Papers will be independently selected by the Program Committee.

To date, session sponsors include Analysis Group, Charles River Associates, Cornerstone Research, Google, Matrix Economics, Microsoft Research, Amazon and NERA Economic Consulting. Sponsored session topics as of this date include:

 CONFERENCE GUIDELINES:  Accepted papers are to be presented by the individual submitting the paper.  Paper acceptances are also conditional on the submitter’s willingness to serve as a discussant in another session of the conference. If you wish to propose a full session, contact the Program Chair, Federico Ciliberto at


PROGRAM COMMITTEE:   The Program Committee is chaired by Federico Ciliberto, University of Virginia.