Skip to content

This award is given annually in recognition of excellence in Research, Education, and Leadership in the field of Industrial Organization.

IOS Distinguished Fellow Award Winners:

  • Paul Klemperer, Edgeworth Professor of Economics, Nuffield College, April 2023
  • Judith Chevalier, Yale School of Management, May 2022
  • Michael Riordan, Columbia University, 2020 (awarded in 2021)
  • Glenn Ellison, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, April 2019
  • Nancy Rose, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, April 2018
  • Steven T. Berry, Yale University, April 2017
  • Michael Whinston, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, April 2016
  • Severin Borenstein, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley, April 2015
  • Dennis W. Carlton, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business, April 2014
  • Carl Shapiro, Walter A. Haas School of Business, University of California at Berkeley, May 2013
  • Richard Schmalensee, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, March 2012
  • R. Preston McAfee, Vice President and Research Fellow at Yahoo! Research, April 2011
  • John Sutton, London School of Economics, May 2010
  • Robert H. Porter, Northwestern University, April 2009
  • Ariel Pakes, Harvard University, May 2008
  • Paul Joskow, Massachusetts Institute of Technology April 2007
  • Timothy F. Bresnahan, Stanford University April 2006
  • Oliver E. Williamson, University of California, Berkeley April 2005
  • Dennis C. Mueller, University of Vienna April 2004
  • William S. Comanor, University of California, Santa Barbara April 2003
  • W. G. Shepherd, University of Massachusetts, Amherst January 2002
  • Richard E. Caves, Harvard University January 2001
  • Jean Tirole, Institut d’Economie Industrielle, Toulouse January 2000
  • F. M. Scherer, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University January 1999