Skip to content

The Industrial Organization Society (IOS) was founded in 1972 to promote research on antitrust policy, regulatory policy, and competition and market power in real-world markets.

The original aim of the IOS was to promote research on antitrust policy, regulatory policy, and competition, and market power in real-world markets. It was founded in 1972 by Stanley Boyle and Willard Mueller. Since 2003, the IOS has sponsored an annual International Industrial Organization Conference in order to accommodate the needs and interests of the burgeoning field.

The Review of Industrial Organization edited by Larry White, is the official journal of the IOS.

The 21st annual International Industrial Organization Conference will be held in-person from April 21 – 23, 2023 at the Capital Hilton in Washington, DC. 


  • President: Nancy L. Rose, MIT
  • Vice-president: Judith A. Chevalier, Yale School of Management
  • Treasurer: Christopher Snyder, Dartmouth College
  • Secretary: Emek Basker, U.S. Census Bureau
  • John Asker, Columbia University
  • Federico Ciliberto, University of Virginia
  • Kenneth Hendricks, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Ginger Zhe Jin, University of Maryland
  • John Kwoka, Northeastern University
  • Francine Lafontaine, University of Michigan
  • Julie Mortimer, Boston College
  • Robert Porter, Northwestern University
  • Robin Prager, Federal Reserve Board
  • Marc Rysman, Boston University
  • Katja Seim, Yale University
  • Alan Sorensen, University of Wisconsin
  • Lawrence White, New York University
  • Mo Xiao, University of Arizona




Past Years

  • Robert Porter, Northwestern University, 2020-2021
  • Kenneth Hendricks, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2018-2019
  • Marc Rysman, Boston University, 2016-2017
  • Shane Greenstein, 2014-2015
  • Joseph Harrington, University of Pennsylvania, 2012-2013
  • Francine Lafontaine, University of Michigan, 2010-2011
  • David Sappington, University of Florida, 2008-2009
  • Christopher Snyder, Dartmouth College, 2006-2007
  • Robert M. Feinberg, American University, 2004-2005
  • Robert T. Masson, Cornell University, 2002-2003
  • Stephen Martin, Purdue University, 2000-2001
  • John T. Scott, Dartmouth College, 1999-2000
  • John E. Kwoka, Northeastern University, 1998-1999
  • Paul Geroski, 1997-1998
  • Joseph Farrell, University of California, Berkeley, 1996-1997
  • Carl Shapiro, University of California, Berkeley, 1995-1996
  • Richard Gilbert, University of California, Berkeley, 1994-1995
  • Dennis Mueller, University of Vienna, 1993-1994
  • F. M. Scherer, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, 1992-1993
  • William S. Comanor, University of California, Santa Barbara, 1991-1992
  • W. G. Shepherd, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 1990-1991

IOS sessions at ASSA 2022

Competition in Pharmaceutical Markets 

  • Chair: Alan Sorensen, University of Wisconsin

Economic Impacts of Regulation 

  • Chair: Nancy Rose, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Informing Antitrust Enforcement: Empirical Evidence on Oligopoly Markets 

  • Chair: Ginger Zhe Jin, University of Maryland