Home » About » Center Governance

Center Governance

The structure of the new Center for International Affairs and World Cultures is decentralized and inclusive, allowing numerous opportunities for leadership and participation—in other words, it is designed to foster collaboration in teaching and research. The center is led by an Executive Committee.


Executive Committee

College chairs and program directors compose the Executive Committee and have oversight of administrative issues. Executive Committee members will serve for one- or two-year terms and membership will revolve among the units of the college.



José Buscaglia
Professor and Chair, Department of Cultures, Societies and Global Studies



Dennis Cokely
Professor of Cultures, Societies and Global Studies; Director, American Sign Language Program

Lori Lefkovitz
Ruderman Professor and Director of Jewish Studies Program; Professor of English; Director, Humanities Center

Valentine M. Moghadam
Professor, Sociology and International Affairs; Director, Middle East Studies Program

Heather Streets-Salter
Chair and Professor, Department of History

Denis Sullivan
Professor of Political Science and International Affairs; Co-Director of Middle East Center

Richard Wamai
Associate Professor of Cultures, Societies and Global Studies; Director, African American Studies Program

Dov Waxman
Professor of Political Science, International Affairs, and Israel Studies; Stosky Professor of Jewish Historical and Cultural Studies