Home » People » Current Doctoral Students

Current Doctoral Students

Stephen Abeyta

Doctoral Student

abeyta.s@husky.neu.edu

• Human Trafficking • Victimization • Capital Punishment • Qualitative Methods

Josie Cambareri

Doctoral Student

cambareri.j@husky.neu.edu

Chase Childress

Doctoral Student

childress.c@husky.neu.edu

• Comparative penal analysis and the interaction of local law enforcement with federal agencies • Transparency phenomenon in law and policy • Mass incarceration, policing and poverty law • Gender and perceptions of criminality

Monica DeLateur

Doctoral Student

delateur.m@husky.neu.edu

• Human trafficking • Sentencing • Criminal law

Stephen Douglas

Doctoral Student

douglas.st@husky.neu.edu

• Police practice and effectiveness • Criminal justice responses to crime • Police victimization • Police culture

Ieke de Vries

Doctoral Student

vries.i@husky.neu.edu

• Crime in public space and online domains • Sex and labor trafficking • Crime embeddedness in legitimate surroundings • Explaining and prediction victimization experiences • Online Data • Computational social science techniques

Chelsea Farrell

Doctoral Candidate

farrell.che@husky.neu.edu

• Gendered and Racialized Etiology of Victimization and Offending • Communities and Crime • Intersectionality

Emma Fridel

Doctoral Candidate

fridel.e@husky.neu.edu

• Homicide and suicide • Individual and contextual effects on lethal violence • Quantitive methods

Steven Heinz

Doctoral Student

heinz.s@husky.neu.edu

Matthew Kafafian

Doctoral Student

kafafian.m@husky.neu.edu

• Human Trafficking • Human Rights • International and Comparative

Brianne Kane

Doctoral Student

kane.br@husky.neu.edu

• Prisoner mental health • Criminal justice system responses to human trafficking

Eileen Kirk

Doctoral Student

harrington.e@husky.neu.edu

• Crime and communities • Social inequality • Criminal justice policy

Stuti Kokkalera

Doctoral Candidate

kokkalera.s@husky.neu.edu

• Decision-Making in the Criminal Justice System • Juvenile Offending • Juvenile Justice Policies • Mixed Research Methods

Mackenzie Kushner

Doctoral Student

kushner.m@husky.neu.edu

Nathaniel Lawshe

Doctoral Student

lawshe.n@husky.neu.edu

• Police Organizations • Community Policing • Violent Victimization

Sarah Lockwood

Doctoral Student

lockwood.s@husky.neu.edu

• Examining impact of victimization experiences • Effects of crime on marginalized communities • Human Trafficking

Katharina Neissl

Doctoral Candidate

neissl.k@husky.neu.edu

Gerald Pezzullo

Doctoral Candidate

pezzullo.g@husky.neu.edu

Todd Prough

Doctoral Candidate

prough.t@husky.neu.edu

Jesenia Robles

Doctoral Student

robles.je@husky.neu.edu

• The relationship between marginalized communities and the criminal justice system • Immigration policy and law enforcement involvement

Eric Rodriguez-Whitney

Doctoral Student

rodriguez-whitney.e@husky.neu.edu

• Race and Justice • Criminal Justice and Democratic Legitimacy • Power and Social Control • Social & Political Theory • Urban Sociology

Kristen Rose

Doctoral Candidate

rose.kr@husky.neu.edu

• Corrections and corrections programs • Consequences of incarceration • Gender and crime

William Sharpe

Doctoral Candidate

sharpe.w@husky.neu.edu

Keller Sheppard

Doctoral Student

sheppard.k@husky.neu.edu

• Police Discretion and Decision Making • Police Officer Use of Force • Community Perception of Criminal Justice Agencies

Stacie St. Louis

Doctoral Student

st.louis.s@husky.neu.edu

• Institutions of punishment • Racial and spatial disparity • Mixed-methods and statistics

Beck Strah

Doctoral Student

strah.b@husky.neu.edu

• Corrections • Gender and Crime • Program Evaluation • Sex Offending

Sema Taheri

Doctoral Candidate

taheri.s@husky.neu.edu

Matthew Teti

Doctoral Student

teti.m@husky.neu.edu

• Policing and technology • Program evaluations • Organizational theory

Jessica Trapassi

Doctoral Student

trapassi.j@husky.neu.edu

• Criminal justice program evaluations • Mitigation in sentencing • Correctional officer wellbeing and DOC policies & procedures

Riley Tucker

Doctoral Student

tucker.r@husky.neu.edu

• Neighborhood Social Processes • Community Crime Prevention • Research Methods

Maja Vlajnic

Doctoral Candidate

vlajnic.m@husky.neu.edu

Andrea Wexler

Doctoral Student

wexler.a@husky.neu.edu

Candence Wills

Doctoral Student

wills.c@husky.neu.edu

Russell Wolff

Doctoral Candidate

r.wolff@neu.edu

Alexis Yohros

Doctoral Student

yohros.a@husky.neu.edu

• Violence • Neighborhood context • Ecological perspectives • Evidence-based policy • Research methods