Skip to content

Endnotes: Spring 2021 Newsletter

Endnotes is a regular feature of the CSSH newsletter that lists accomplishments of our faculty, undergraduate and graduate students, alumni, and other members of our CSSH community.


  • Folashade Adewunmi (Criminal Justice) received the 2021 CSSH Ruth E. Sullivan Award in recognition of her interdisciplinary research efforts.
  • Anneke Gustafson (Sociology) received one of eight 2021 Compass Awards, which recognizes true dedication to a core set of values: leadership, volunteerism, academic integrity, and commitment to Northeastern.
  • James Lyons (Political Science) won a First Generation Award for Social Justice Advocacy.
  • Gisselle Rodriguez Benitez (Economics) won a First Generation Award for First-Gen Legacy Building.
  • Ngenyi Stephanie Beja (International Affairs) received a Pickering Fellowship.
  • Minseo Choi (Politics, Philosophy, and Economics) received the Zanghi-Dow 21st Century Scholarship.
  • The following students were recognized as RISE award winners:
    • Kaleem Ahmid (Philosophy and Health Science/MPH PlusOne)
    • Emma  Andrews (Politics, Philosophy, and Economics)
    • Emily Burke (Music/Political Science)
    • Matthew Canary (Sociology)
    • Kaitlyn Cavallaro (International Affairs/Economics)
    • Alisha Karuvannur-Sandhu (Philosophy/Biology double major)
    • Daniel Koerner (Environmental Studies/Economics)
    • Sheridan Lasher (Politics, Philosophy, and Economics)
    • Gaea Leemon (Economics)
    • Katharine McGuire (Economics)
    • Kira Mok (Sociology/Environmental Studies)
  • The following students were named to the Huntington 100, which honors outstanding students whose achievements are commensurate with the university’s mission, ideals, values, and academic plan:
    • Cole Alder (Sociology)
    • Samantha Bonnin (History)
    • Nathalie Cruz (English)
    • Ava Gallo (Environmental Science/International Affairs)
    • Yehuda Gannon (History/Political Science)
    • Benjamin Cooper Gould (Politics, Philosophy, and Economics/MPP PlusOne)
    • Sonali Howe (Economics)
    • Emily Newell (Political Science)
    • Olivia Olcott (Human Services/International Affairs)
    • Bianca Palmarini (International Affairs/Economics)
    • Rebecca Powell (Human Services/International Affairs)
    • Sabrina Zhang (Political Science/International Affairs)
  • The following students were recognized with Northeastern University’s 2021 President’s Award:
    • Samantha Steinberg (Sociology)
    • Madison Waldron (Political Science/Communications)
    • Jessica Brenner (Criminal Justice/Psychology)
    • Kayla Collins (Political Science/International Affairs)
    • Savita Maharaj (English)
    • Saoirse McNally (Human Services/Criminal Justice)
    • Anna Moceyunas (International Affairs/Anthropology)
    • Ana Hecht (Political Science/Communications)
    • Carolyn Kiely (Religious Studies)
  • Caroline Hegg (International Affairs/Economics) and Sara Flynn (Human Services) received Outstanding CSSH Co-op Awards.
  • Rachel Feuerhelm (Political Science) received the 2021 Senior Excellence Award in Global Engagement – Honors Program.     
  • Brooke Stanley (Political Science/Communication Studies) received the 2021 Senior Excellence Award in Research and Creative Endeavors – Honors Program.           
  • Ffifon Titmuss (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology/English) received the 2021 Senior Excellence Award in Leadership – Honors Program.
  • Anna Brown (Political Science/International Affairs) received the Political Science Department’s Experiential Learning Award.
  • Caitlan Lucien (Political Science/Economics) received the Political Science Department’s Global Award.


  • Cara Messina (English PhD `21) was awarded Northeastern’s Outstanding Graduate Student Award for Humanics.
  • PhiYen Nguyen (MPP) was inducted into the Huntington 100.
  • Avery Blankenship (English PhD) was named Scholar at the Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Alliance and Collaboratory.
  • Tim Fraser (Political Science PhD) received the Japan Foundation Doctoral Research Fellowship and a Fulbright Graduate Fellowship in Japan.
  • Molly Nebiolo (History PhD) was awarded a Long-Term Residential Predoctoral Fellowship from the American Philosophical Society.
  • Alanna Prince (English PhD) was awarded the Social Media Corps Fellowship from the African American History, Culture, and Digital Humanities (AADHum).
  • Maria Robson (Political Science PhD) received the Mobilizing Insights in Defence and Security (MINDS) Initiative Doctoral Fellowship from the Department of National Defence, Government of Canada; and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) Doctoral Fellowship from the Government of Canada.


All faculty accomplishments can be found on our Faculty Accomplishments pages.

More Stories

Endnotes: May 2024 Newsletter


Dean’s Newsletter: Winter 2023

Northeastern logo

Dean’s Newsletter: Spring 2024