Skip to content
Connect

Academic advising is an ongoing process that engages students in educational planning consistent with their academic interests as well as with their personal, intellectual, and career goals. This student-centered advising process involves an active partnership among students, professional academic advisors, and Undergraduate Program Advisors who are faculty in their departments.

Office of Student Academic Affairs

Located in 180 Renaissance Park, the Office of Student Academic Affairs is a central place where undergraduate students in CSSH can go with all academic questions. This office is a good first place to go for any kind of academic concern.

Academic advisors provide general guidance on academic matters and assist students in their progress from orientation through graduation. Located in each academic department, undergraduate program directors mentor students and function as the student’s main connection with the major.

The CSSH Office of Student Academic Affairs is committed to providing students with the assistance they need to attain academic success.

Undergraduate Advising FAQs

Have questions? Refer to our Undergraduate Advising FAQs. If you have additional questions, reach out to csshadvising@neu.edu or call 617-373-3980.

Academic AdvisorMajor
Alain Akasa, MBA
a.akasa@northeastern.edu
617-373-7600
Africana Studies
Anthropology
English (Last Names L-Z)
Political Science (Last Names S-Z)
PPE (Politics, Philosophy, Economics)
Communication Studies/Sociology combined major
Maureen Desmond, MEd
m.desmond@northeastern.edu
617-373-7972
International Affairs (Last Names A-P)
History
History, Culture, and Law
Kelliann Henry, MEd
k.henry@northeastern.edu
(617) 373-7743
American Sign Language
Spanish and Spanish/International Affairs combined majors
Sociology and Sociology combined majors unless otherwise noted
Lingheshwari Kakkanaiah, MA
l.kakkanaiah@northeastern.edu
617.373.7160
Economics (Last Names A-K)
Political Science (Last Names A-F)
Krissy Maloney, MEd
k.maloney@northeastern.edu
617.373.4253
English (Last Names A-K)
Human Services
Philosophy & Religious Studies;
Criminal Justice (Last Names A – K)
Justin Repici, MBA
j.repici@northeastern.edu
617.373.8385
Asian Studies, Economics (last names P-Z); Asian Studies
Economics (Last Names P-Z)
Heather (Cullen) Stellberger, MAT
h.cullen@northeastern.edu
617.373.4145
Criminal Justice (Last Names L – Z) and International Affairs (Last Names Q – Z)
Emma Magadan
e.magadan@northeastern.edu
617.373.3564
Economics (Last Names L – O)
Political Science (Last Names G – R)

Meet with an advisor

  • Make an appointment online

    Current students can schedule an appointment online. Select “Advising” for the appointment area.

    Make an Appointment
  • Visit us in person

    Students are advised to schedule their appointments online or via phone.

  • Give us a call

    If a student can’t come during regular business hours, phone appointments with academic advisors are available. Call 617-373-3980 to schedule an appointment.