Skip to content

NULab Faculty and Co-Directors Receive FY18 Tier 1 Awards

We are pleased to announce that several NULab core faculty members and co-directors have been awarded TIER 1 grants for FY18 research projects:

  • “Networks and Global Health: Experimental Evidence of Women’s Social Networks, Reproductive Health, and Well-Being in Developing Countries” Catalina Herrera Almanza (Economics, International Affairs), David Lazer (Political Science, Computer Science, NULab Co-Director)
  • “Team Communication Unpacked: A Pilot Study of Team Communication Process and Performance Captured in a Smart Meeting Room” Brooke Foucault Welles (Communication Studies), Christoph Riedl (Information Systems, Computer Science)
  • “Witnessing Hate: A Social Justice Archive of the Present” Ryan Cordell (English), Élika Ortega Guzman (Cultures, Societies & Global Studies), Richard Daynard (Law)
  • “Inferring Argument Structure from Online and Live Conversations” Lu Wang (Computer Science), Nicholas Beauchamp (Political Science), Michelle Borkin (Computer Science)
  • “Word Vector Analysis for TEI/XML: A user-friendly toolkit” Julia Flanders (Libraries, English), Elizabeth Maddock Dillon (English, NULab Co-Director), Cody Dunne (Computer Science)
  • “Spatial and information space partitioning optimization for data visualization” Mehdi Behroozi (Mechanical and Industrial Engineering), Cody Dunne (Computer Science)

TIER 1 awards are provided by the Colleges and Senior Vice Provost for Research and Graduate Education. This competitive program makes grants of up to $50,000 to support and encourage individual faculty members to form multidisciplinary teams to secure proof of concept, with a goal of successfully competing for future sponsored research opportunities. Funds are also available as seed grants for multidisciplinary teams to develop new and innovative research directions.

More Stories

NULab Co-Director David Lazer Discusses Parents Accessing COVID-19 Vaccine Information for Children


Announcing the NULab’s Spring 2022 Seedling and Travel Grant Recipients


Partner with DITI: Fall 2022 CFP