Skip to content
Stories

NULab Spring 2024 Calendar of Events

The logo for NuLab News: a minimalist image of an opened book with monochrome and red pixels on the left edge

We’re delighted to share the NULab’s spring 2024 calendar of events. We have some very exciting talks, panels, workshops, and other events planned for the semester. Additional details and registration information are on the NULab’s events page.

These events are free and open to the public, but registration is required in some cases. Registration links are coming soon for some events, so please save these dates and check the events page for updates. Please contact nulab.info@gmail.com with any questions.

We hope to see you this semester!

NULab Spring 2024 Calendar of Events

February 6: 3–4pm London/10–11am Boston/7–8am Oakland, virtual
Becca Hutcheon, Research Fellow, University of South Wales
“Realism pushed to its extreme limits”: Digital Literary Mapping onto Victorian London
Hosted by Northeastern University London

February 14: 5–6pm London/12–1pm Boston/9–10am Oakland, hybrid on Zoom and 79 Snell Library, lower level, Boston campus
DH Office Hours: Douglass Day
Douglass Day 2024 will feature the general correspondence of Frederick Douglass from the Library of Congress. As part of an international celebration, we will attempt to transcribe all 8,731 pages in one day!
Co-hosted with the Digital Scholarship Group, Archives and Special Collections, and the Women Writers Project. Douglass Day 2024 is part of Love Data Week.

March 14: 4–5pm London/12–1pm Boston/9–10am Oakland, virtual
DH Office Hours: Community Collaboration Showcase
Featuring: Olly Ayers (History, Northeastern University London), Tieanna Graphenreed (English), Juniper Johnson (English), Claire Lavarreda (History), Savita Maharaj (English), Yana Mommadova (Sociology), Cassie Tanks (History)
Hosted at Northeastern University London

March 19: 5–6pm London/1–2pm Boston/10–11am Oakland, virtual
Ellen Cushman, Dean’s Professor of Civic Sustainability, Founder and Project Lead of the Digital Archive of Indigenous Language Persistence
“Cherokees Writing the Keetoowah Way”: Community-based digital archiving and language persistence archive
Hosted by Northeastern University London

March 26: 2:30–3:30pm London/10:30–11:30am Boston/7:30–8:30am Oakland
Optional pre-workshop: Introduction to Python, virtual
March 27: 4:30–6:30pm London/12:30–2:30pm Boston/9:30–11:30am Oakland
Workshop: Introduction to Machine Learning for Text Analysis, virtual
Led by: Sean P. Rogers, NULab Assistant Director

April 4: 5–6pm London/12–1pm Boston/9–10am Oakland, virtual
DH Office Hours: Lightning Talks
Featuring: Oliver Mel Allen (Network Science), Sarah Kanouse (Art + Design, CAMD), Peter Maber (English, Northeastern University London), Seo Un Yang (Political Science & Communication Studies)
Co-hosted with the Digital Scholarship Group

April 19: hybrid on Zoom and Alumni Center, Boston campus
NULab Spring Conference: Community Collaboration
Join us for the seventh annual NULab spring conference! This year’s theme will be “Community Collaboration” and will include a diverse set of interdisciplinary presentations.

More Stories

The logo for NuLab News: a minimalist image of an opened book with monochrome and red pixels on the left edge

NULab Grants Spring 2024 CFP

02.05.2024
Logo for the Northeastern University Lab for Texts, Maps, and Networks, showing an open book with one page colored red with red, white, and gray squares.

Digital Integration Teaching Initiative Fall 2024 Call for Partnerships

01.26.2024

NULab Faculty David Lazer Urges Listening Across the Political Divide

02.20.24
News