Skip to content

Student Awards, 2023

Congratulations to the 2023 Policy School student award recipients! These awards were presented during the Policy School End of Year Celebration on April 25th, 2023 at the John D. O'Bryant African-American Institute.

Graduate Student Leadership Award

Jose Guerrero Sanchez, Master of Urban Planning and Policy

Community Impact Award

Sydney Fisher, Master of Urban Planning and Policy

School Spirit Award

Shelby Kurland, Master of Public Administration

Outstanding Academic Performance Award

Riley Glosick, Master of Public Administration

Kelly Ann Lewis, Master of Public Policy

Kiera Fair, Master of International Affairs

Barr Turner, Master of Public Policy

Alexandra Bollella, Master of Public Policy

Emma Dempsey, Master of Public Policy

Kathleen Magee, Master of Urban Planning and Policy

Xianjie Meng, Master of Science in Urban in Urban Informatics

Peer-to-Peer Award

Johan Arango-Quiroga, PhD Public Policy

About Awards

Graduate Student Leadership Award

The Graduate Student Leadership Award is given to a student who demonstrates the desire to build a strong community among Policy School students and will follow through on that desire.

Community Impact Award

The Community Impact Award is given to a student who demonstrates a deep commitment to partnering with others to address community issues and thereby bring about transformative change.

School Spirit Award

The School Spirit Award recognizes a student who with their academic achievements, outstanding service to the University and larger community, and commitment to putting research into practice embodies the Policy School spirit. The recipient embodies the tenants of our mission which focuses on equity, justice, collaboration, community, engagement, and impact.

Outstanding Academic Performance Award

The Outstanding Academic Performance Award is given to the graduate (Master’s or PhD) with the highest GPA and faculty recognition of academic excellence.

Peer-to-Peer Award

The Peer-to-Peer award is given to a student who is nominated by a peer for demonstrating effective leadership and consultation through their coursework and collaboration with their peers.

More Stories

Academic Institutions Owe Us Climate Justice


Loss and Damage Facility Policy Brief: Prof. Laura Kuhl and PhD students Istiakh Ahmed and Johan Arango-Quiroga

Where does good public policy begin? At Northeastern, and this graduate is making a difference as Massachusetts’ secretary of labor and workforce development

All Stories